Video: 30th Annual Young Artist Awards

We spoke to several talented nominees at Universal Studios, Hollywood for the 30th Annual Young Artist Awards & we learned how inspiring these kids are, not just by their talent but by the humanitarian work they do outside of the movie set.

Embed / Share Video

Interviews with:

Street Magic
Vlad Krutski
Austin MacDonald
Joseph Castanon
Cassidi Hoag
Bella Thorne
Remy thorne
Carlos Knight
Joey Luthman
Erin Sanders
Doc Shaw
Madison Ford
Mia ford
Nate Hartley
Luke Benward
& more!


HOLLYWOOD, Cal. — It was a day of celebration for the dozens of winners Sunday when Hollywood’s child and teen stars gathered for their own annual award show.  But for the organizers of the non-profit organization it was also a day of accomplishment.

It was a milestone – 30 years of recognizing those young people who have been passed over by the Oscars, the Globes, the Emmy’s and the Independent Spirit Awards among others. And it was to honor the awards founder, Maureen Dragone, who continues as its president.

For the occasion, many former nominees and winners showed up as did Kenny Ortega, director of High School Musical and former child star Cory Feldman (Stand By Me) both of whom received special awards.   Street Magic, the Russian Federation’s top singing sensation featuring soloist Vlad Krutskikh, also was on hand to mark the event.  [more]

And when it is was all over, in the feature film category, Nate Hartley walked away with the best performance leading young actor for Drillbit Taylor as did Dakota Fanning, leading young actress for The Secret Life of Bees.

Also in feature films, Brandon Soo Hoo got the best supporting honor as young actor for Tropic Thunder and Christian Serratos as best supporting actress for Twilight.  Kit Kittredge: An American Girl got the feature film young ensemble cast award for its young stars Abigail Breslin, Madison Davenport, Austin MacDonald, Zach Mills, Willow Smith and Max Thieriot.

Brandon Walters picked up the honor for best leading performer for the international feature film for Australia.  And Cainan Wiebe got the honor for best performance as an actor in a short film A Pickle, and Laytrel McMullen received the honor as young actress in Pudge.

For TV work, winners included Alex Black for leading young actor in a TV movie, mini-series, or special for his work in Minutemen.  And Selena Gomez won for leading young actress for Another Cinderella Story.

Joseph Castanon won for best supporting actor in this category for his work in Comanche Moon and Cassidi Hoag won for supporting young actress for The Two Mr. Kissels.

Other winners: Best performance in a TV series, leading young actor:  Graham Patrick Martin (The Bill Engvall Show) and leading young actress Miranda Cosgrove (iCarly).  Best performance in a TV series supporting young actor: Larramie Shaw (Tyler Perry’s House of Payne) and Bella Thorne for supporting young actress (My Own Worst Enemy).

The awards also experienced its only tie when it honored best performance in a TV series guest staring young actor.  Sharing this honor were Carlos Knight (ER) and Joey Luthman (Private Practice).  Nicole Leduc got the nod for guest starting young actress in this same category.  For best performance in a TV series recurring young actor, Mick Hazen won for As the World Turns and Erin Sanders, recurring young actress, for The Young and the Restless.

The Bill Engvall Show’s young stars Skyler Gisondo Graham Patrick Martin and Jennifer Laurence won for outstanding young ensemble in a TV series.  David Gore won for best voice-over role young actor for Fly Me to the Moon as did Emily Hirst, young actress, for The Girl Who Leapt Through Time.

Finally Billy Unger won for best performance in a DVD film (Cop Dog) and Shemar Charles for best performance in live theatre for Pop It.

Related posts:

(Video) Kat Graham joins & Bing for 'Summer of Doing' in NYC
(Video) Antiques Market for Vintage Fashion with @Stitchless_TV
An International Crowd of Summer Fun-Seekers Gather @ Universal Studios Hollywood

Comments are closed